Meet the Judges

Peer-to-Peer Review

During Peer-to-Peer review, each applicant will score and comment on five other applications using the four criteria included in the scoring rubric: community-informed, impactful, feasible, and evidence-based. This is the same scoring rubric that the Evaluation Panel will use.

Scores will be calculated using an algorithm that ensures a level playing field for all applicants. In addition to scoring each application on the four criteria in the scoring rubric, Peer-to-Peer reviewers will also provide a final numerical score, ranging between 0-100, representing an overall impression of the entire application. We ask that each Peer-to-Peer reviewer carefully read the applications given to them and provide meaningful feedback.

The Peer-to-Peer review will result in a rank order of all valid submissions. Based on the rank order of scores, a subset of top-scoring applications will move forward to the Evaluation Panel.

Evaluation Panel

Evaluation Panel members will score and provide feedback on the applications assigned to them using the scoring rubric, and each valid application will receive five sets of reviews with scores that have been statistically normalized to ensure a level playing field. Informed by the resulting rank order of applications after Evaluation Panel review, up to five Finalists will be selected. 

Paul Collier

Professor of Economics & Public Policy, University of Oxford

Fauziya Abdi Ali

President, Women in International Security

Maha Abushama

Programme Manager, Human Rights, Sigrid Rausing Trust

Muna AbuSulayman

Faisal Al-Juburi

Associate Vice President-Development, RAICES

Ons Alkhadra

Director MENA and GCC Affairs, International Medical Corps

Dania Al Masri

Co-Founder, Deeds Development Consultancy

Naif ALObaid

Executive Director, Shefa Fund

Hilda Arellano

Foreign Service Officer & International Development Specialist

Zohoor Asiri


Mohammed Badran

Founder & Director, Syrian Volunteers Netherlands (SYVNL)

Valerie Bemo

Deputy Director, Emergency Response, Global Development, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Kristin Bernhard

Senior Vice President, Advocacy & Policy, Ounce of Prevention Fund

Robert Carey

Former Director of Office of Refugee Resettlement, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Siddharth Chatterjee

UN Resident Coordinator to Kenya, United Nations

Stacey Choe

Director, Asia Philanthropy Circle

Seemi Choudry

Former Director, Office of New Americans (ONA), City of Chicago Mayor's Office

Mary Crock

Professor of Public Law, Director, Sydney Centre for International Law, The University of Sydney Law School

Annemieke de Jong

Refugee Livelihoods Programme Manager

Heidi Dorow

Director of Immigration Initiatives, Borealis Philanthropy

Sayd Farook

Advisor, VP & PM of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai

Bill Frelick

Refugee Rights Program Director, Human Rights Watch

Zarlasht Halaimzai

Director, Refugee Trauma Initiative

Joel Hernandez

Freelance Analyst & Advocate

Esther Hughes

Executive Director, Global Dialogue

Mukhtar Ibrahim

Editor & Executive Director, Sahan Journal

Amaney Jamal

Professor, Princeton University

Dana Juffali

Board Member, Shefa Fund

Yasmin Kayali

Co-Founder, Chief PR & Communications Officer, Basmeh & Zeitooneh

Anita Khashu

Director, Four Freedoms Fund, NEO Philanthropy

Ifrah Mahamud Magan

Faculty/Fellow/Assistant Professor, New York University

Tara Magner

Director, Chicago Commitment, MacArthur Foundation

Ammar Malik

Director of Research (EPoD), Center for International Development JFK School of Government, Harvard University

Geri Mannion

Program Director, Strengthening U.S. Democracy & Special Opportunities Fund Carnegie Corporation of New York

Susan Martin

Donal G. Herzberg Professor Emerita of International Migration, School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University

Natasha Matic

Chief Strategy Officer, King Khalid Foundation

Elizabeth McCostlin

Managing Director, UNICEF-Chicago Regional Office

Anya McMurray

Senior Director, Immigration Strategy & Policy, Emerson Collective

Kathleen Newland

Senior Fellow & Co-Founder, Migration Policy Institute

SonBinh Nguyen

Professor of Chemistry, Northwestern University

Deogratias Niyizonkiza

Founder & CEO, Village Health Works

Anila Noor

Policy Advisor on Diversity, Integration & Gender Inclusion

Lam Nguyen-Phuong

Co-founder & Former Senior Managing Partner, Capital Group

Sorcha O'Callaghan

Director, Humanitarian Policy Group, Overseas Development Institute

Hibaaq Osman

Founder, Karama

Daranee Petsod

President, Grantmakers Concerned with Immigrants & Refugees

Shahla Raza

Founder-Director, Yusra Community Center

Alma Rodriguez

Senior Program Officer - Immigrant Advocacy, Walder Foundation

Maria Teresa Rojas

Director of Programs, International Migration Initiative, Open Society Foundations

Tea Rozman-Clark

Co-Founder & Executive Director, Green Card Voices

Katina Saoulli

Executive Director, I AM YOU

Rebecca Sharp

Chief Operating Officer, IDinsight

John Slocum

Nonresident Senior Fellow, Chicago Council on Global Affairs

Emily Snider

Director of Marketing & Artisan Initiatives, RefuSHE

Lorna Solis

Founder & CEO, Elevate & GritTekkie

Beth Solomon

Managing Director, Strategic Initiatives & Development, CARE USA

Stanley Tan

Chairman, Asia Philanthropy Circle

Fairuz Taqi-Eddin

Chief of Partnership & Fundraising, UNICEF-Arab Gulf Region

Negar Tayyar

Director, Global Whole Being Fund (GWBF)

Safia Tmiri

Senior Engagement Manager, McKinsey & Company

Najeeba Wazefadost

Co-founder, APNOR (Asia Pacific Network of Refugees, Refugee Advocate)

Regine Webster

Vice President, Center for Disaster Philanthropy

Selection Committee

In partnership with Lever for Change, the Selection Committee will review the top-scoring submissions and select up to five Finalists based on considerations that may include, but are not limited to, Evaluation Panel resulting rank order, organizational capacity, geographic diversity, and feasibility. The donor will select the Finalists and recipient of the Larsen Lam ICONIQ Impact Award. 

Let’s work together to build brighter, more durable futures for refugees.

Join us and support the well-being of refugees around the world. Submissions have closed.